Avocado strength & conditioning hair mask

So recently I decided to straighten my hair after  I had left it natural for quite a while, as you could imagine my hair started feeling dry and brittle and if you’re like me, when your hair doesn’t feel right… you ain’t right! Every day I’d do my hair and feel depressed at the fact that my hair was lifeless and limp, I hadn’t washed my hair in over two weeks (normally I wash my hair every week or two), so I decided to give my hair a well deserved treatment to gain back its moisture, and to uplift my spirit!

My avocado hair mask is one i’ve been using for quite a while, I first used this hair mask last year and fell in love with how moisturised it left my hair looking and feeling. This mask is sure to strengthen your hair and retain the moisture you can’t live without!

You will find all of these products at your local store for under £5 each!

Products

2 whole avocado

1 egg

2-3 tsp mayonnaise

2tsp coconut oil

3 tsp olive oil

Please adjust measurements to your standard, I have quite a lot of hair and this mixture makes a bowl full.

You can replace these oils with whatever you have on hand or ones which suit you.

Product benefits:

avocado
Avocado: Avocado’s which are high in proteins with a high-fat content makes your hair less dry and prone to breakage. They contain a number of natural oils, which penetrate your hair cuticles allowing them to successfully moisturise your hair from root to tip; nutrients, promoting strength and vitamins such as vitamins C, D, E, K and B6. Avocado has proven to be tremendously beneficial to your hair and scalp,  benefits include:

  • Moisturising dry and damaged hair
  • Treats dandruff and dry scalp
  • Promotes hair growth

 

coonut oil.jpgCoconut oil: High in natural saturated fats including Capric acid, Caprylic acid and Lauric acid which penetrate the hair shaft allowing oil to fully moisturise hair and scalp. These properties also aid in thickening your hair plus adding shine without any added harmful chemicals! Benefits:

  • Reduces protein loss
  • Promotes hair growth and volume
  • Moisturising properties
  • Reduces frizz

 

 

olive oil.jpgOlive oil: People have been using olive oil for hair care for thousands of years, it contains antioxidant vitamins A & E speeding up hair growth process by penetrating hair strand for added moisture. It is extremely beneficial for thick and dry hair adding olive oil to your regime should provide more slip through your wash process, olive oil:

  • Adds shine to hair
  • Retains moisture
  • Makes hair extremely soft

 

Egg: Eggs are rich in protein making your locks strong and less prone to breakage essentially leaving you with less split ends. While shampoo strips away your hairs natural oils, adding eggs to your hair mask will maintain your hair’s natural oils.

  • Prevents hair loss
  • Thickens hair
  • Added protein

 

mayonnaiseMayonnaise: The vinegar, found in mayonnaise, helps restore the healthy pH balance to damaged hair, mayonnaise also helps protect your hair from harmful chemicals and products which may dry out your hair and leave hair damaged.

You can either use a fork or a blender to mix all ingredients, I prefer to use a blender just so that I know there are no bits left in my mixture. Avocado can leave chunks in your hair and it is the most annoying thing trying to get them out!

Place avocado and olive oil into the blender and mix until blended well. Then add the remaining ingredients and mix until you are left with a smooth textured mask!

IMG_6375.JPG

Add mask from root to tip of hair, section by section, smoothing and finger detangling ensuring the mixture is equally distributed.

I like to divide my hair into 4 sections just make it easier and so I know the mask is covering all of my hair.

Once hair is covered, cover hair with a plastic cap or plastic bag and leave on for around 2-4 hours. You can leave on for as little as an hour however I would suggest leaving the mask on for a longer period so you’re reaping the benefits.

IMG_6368.JPGIMG_6364.JPG

Rinse thoroughly until water runs clear with warm water and wash with your favourite shampoo 1-2 times. I like to add conditioner to my hair after the wash process and let sit for around 5-10 minutes. Style as usual.

Your hair should feel unbelievably soft and your curls should feel nourished and spring to life!

Please do your research before purchasing your products, what is promoted on the label may not be exactly what is in the product! For example any added fragrances, dyes or anything refined. Make sure you read and understand the ingredients in the product.

I’m not in any way saying I have the best quality of products however it helps if they are at a higher quality, I would suggest using organic products to ensure maximum results from your products.

IMG_6375.JPG

Janay

 

xoxo

Leave a Reply

