Roasted minted lamb

If you’re like me then you’ll love a roast dinner every once in a while. Lamb happens to be one of my favourite meats so I decided, why not make a roast lamb dinner with all the trimmings. I’ve always been quite experimental in the kitchen so one day I decided, why not make my own mint sauce? So I gathered all the in gradients and voila the best mint sauce you and I will EVER taste! I fell in love with it so much I decided to share it with you. This dish is super easy and leaves you with very little washing up!

Ingredients for mint sauce

A bundle of fresh mint leaves

4-5 Cloves of garlic

8 tbsp Extra virgin Olive oil

2 tbsp Cider vinegar

1 tbsp Salt

1 tbsp Black pepper

2-3 tsp Sugar

1/2 Red chilli (optional)

IMG_6154.JPG

 

My half leg of lamb already came seasoned with cracked black pepper and red pepper flakes so I just added a few more seasonings, for this you will need…

Ingredients for lamb

Half lamb leg (You can use any cut of lamb of your choice)

Aromat all purpose seasoning

Paprika

The packaging the lamb came with was oven proof so I used the foil tin it came in to cook the lamb, I also seasoned the lamb in the tin, which is great because it saves me having to wash a load of big pots which is my BIGGEST hatred in life!

Method:

Blend all of your ingredients together, if you don’t have a blender you can thinly chop the ingredients and smear onto the meat it will work just as well, or if you have a motor and pestle set that would also be beneficial.

Using a knife, poke holes into your lamb piece so that all the seasoning and juices seep through to the flesh making the meat extra juicy and flavoursome.

You first want to add the aromat and paprika to your meat before adding the mint sauce. Once added, massage into meat, add the sauce and let it rest in the fridge for 2-3 hours or until you’re ready to cook! I was feeling lazy so I decided to let it rest for about 3-4 hours (don’t judge me).

*Tip*

After the lamb is cooked you could also use the metal tins and the juices left to roast potatoes or roasted vegetables! Thank me later.

Place in the oven on gas mark 4,  I prefer my meat medium to well so I let my meat cook for around an hour. Depending on how you like your meat you may want to leave the lamb in for an extra half an hour if you like yours well done. But trust me, you don’t want to cook out all that minty flavoury goodness so try not to over cook your meat! You will hate yourself and try to blame me.

IMG_6153.JPG

Once the meat was cooked, I decided I wanted to make a gravy so I thinly sliced the meat and placed it in a pot with the added juices, adding a tiny bit of gravy granules and let simmer for 10-15 minutes until a nice thick gravy was formed.

IMG_6160.JPG

You can serve the meat straight out of the oven, I however just prefer to have a thicker gravy.

Hope you enjoyed this recipe, please like and share this post and leave a comment!

Janay

xoxo

Leave a Reply

