Jerk Chicken

I make a chicken dish at least once a week and I am always debating what style of chicken I’m in the mood for, After scrolling through various videos on youtube ( I could literally sit on youtube all day if I had the choice), I  was searching for some inspiration for tonight’s dinner as I was fed up of the same old boring dishes, in which I’m sure you can relate. On this particular day I had the urge to make a real traditional caribbean dish from scratch. I had some chicken pieces sitting in the freezer then it hit me. Jerk chicken!

So I got ready to go to the shop to get the ingredients, I’m a nightmare to go shopping with, even when I know what I need I still find myself wondering around the shop looking for god knows what, wasting time as always! I haven’t made this dish for a while so I was excited to make it again.

Heres my take on the dish, for the ingredients you will need…

Jerk sauce Ingredients:

Serves 4-5 people

Chicken Legs and thighs, skin on bone in

Scotch bonnet pepper x3

Fresh ginger

Fresh thyme

Spring onion x4

Juice of 1 Lime

1 whole onion

Garlic cloves x5

1/2 tsp Ground nutmeg

1/2 tsp Ground cinnamon

Salt

Black pepper

2 tbs All purpose seasoning

2tsp soy sauce

5tsp brown sugar

3 tbs apple cider vinegar

3 tsp olive oil

Please adjust measurements to your preferences.img_5860

Place all ingredients in a blender and blend to a smooth consistency.

IMG_5861.JPG

Make sure you season your chicken before you add the jerk seasoning for added flavour, for the chicken seasoning you will need.

Chicken seasoning ingredients:

All purpose seasoning

Chicken seasoning

Black pepper

Garlic powder

I never measure the seasonings I put on my meat. I would suggest that any seasoning you use has reduced salt or no salt in at all so you are able to measure the amount of salt is in your dish. You don’t want to over season your meat and end up with an unbearable salt taste!

Method:

Clean chicken thoroughly with water and lemon, in a bowl. Once clean, poke holes into the chicken ensuring the sauce seeps through to the flesh making the chicken more flavoursome and succulent. Add the mixture to the chicken pieces then get those hands dirty and rub the sauce into the chicken. Once covered, wrap the bowl in cling film and leave to rest in the fridge for 3-5 hours. To get the best out of this recipe you can leave the chicken to marinade  over night. Be sure to remove chicken from the fridge 20-30 minutes before you start cooking to let the meat get to room temperature.

img_5862

Place chicken in an oven proof dish, skin side up. Place tin foil over chicken and cook for 2 hours in the oven at gas mark 5, checking every half an hour.

Final steps:

For the last half an hour remove tin foil and drizzle some honey over chicken to add a sweet glaze to your chicken. Place back in the oven and cook for a further 30 minutes until golden and chicken is cooked through.

IMG_5878.JPG

Once chicken is cooked Enjoy with a side of your choice, whether it be chips, rice or even salad, this recipe is sure to go down a treat. It’s full of flavour and just the right amount of spice. I decided to eat my chicken with a spicy rice dish (Recipe available soon) and some homemade coleslaw (Recipe also available soon).

IMG_5885.JPG

I hope you enjoyed this wonderful Caribbean Dish, be sure to share your versions of this recipe in the comments and any pictures of you trying this recipe.

Janay

xoxo

Leave a Reply

